John B. Thurston Award

The Board of Directors of The Institute of Internal Auditors (IIA) established the Thurston Award in March 1952 as a tribute to the memory of John B. Thurston, its first international president and an eminent authority in the field of internal auditing. The award is made annually to the author of that article published in Internal Auditor that is voted to be the outstanding paper in the field of internal auditing.

The John B. Thurston award consists of a plaque, a one-year membership to The IIA, complimentary registration at the next International Conference, travel to and from the conference site, and reasonable and customary costs for meals and lodging. In the event of two or more authors, The IIA will pay registration, travel, meal, and lodging costs for one author only.

Five “Outstanding Contributor” awards are also presented each year. These awards recognize the five runners-up to the Thurston Award winner.


2013 Thurston Award Winner 

"What's Your Brand?" (October 2012)
Andrew L. Cheskis 


2013 Outstanding Contributors

"Auditing Governance Processes" (February 2012)
Norman Marks, CPA, CRMA
"Evaluating Third-party Due Diligence" (June 2012) 
Steven J. Kuzma, CPA, CFE, CCEP, CFF 
Daniel T. Torpey, CPA, CFF, CITP 
Vincent M. Walden, CPA, CFE

"Inside the Fraudster's Mind" (April 2012)
Joseph T. Wells, CPA, CFE

"IT Governance Integration"
 (August 2012)
James Reinhard, CIA

"Understanding the E-discovery Process"
 (April 2012)
Lance J. Semer, CIA, CISA, CISSP






Subscribe_June 2014 


  Free CPE for Members 4-2011



facebook IAO