Leaders Link - The Institute Of Internal Auditors  


January 2013
printPrint Article
printPrint Entire Issue

IIA Awards 5,000th CRMA Designation

The IIA’s new Certification in Risk Management AssuranceTM, or CRMA®,has been well received by the professional internal audit community. To gain a toehold in a market filled with established and recognized professional designations, the CRMA initially has been C. Wayne Roseoffered to candidates via the Professional Experience Recognition (PER) provision — a points system by which applicants are awarded the CRMA based on achieving a minimum of 155 points for their education and experience in the domains covered by the CRMA.

The IIA is pleased to have conferred the 5,000th CRMA to C. Wayne Rose, CIA, CRMA, partner, Enterprise Risk Services with Deloitte & Touche LLP. Rose is a member of The IIA’s Dallas Chapter and serves on both The IIA’s North American and Global boards.

“Today there is an enlightened focus around risk and governance for audit committees and executive management,” said Rose of his decision to apply for the CRMA designation. “The impacts of not addressing risk are so significant that organizational leaders are looking for the experience and expertise that will help assure they have the right business processes and controls in place to help mitigate significant risks.” 

“Having the CRMA accentuates my credibility to provide that assurance and gives audit committees and management comfort that they can rely on my experience and expertise to provide key recommendations and insights for enhancing the organization’s current business processes and controls. Thus, the organization will be better positioned to mitigate significant risks,” Rose added. “I am very pleased to be in the inaugural group of designees.”

An additional 3,500+ candidates have applied for the CRMA and are pending approval to earn the designation through the PER period, which ended Dec. 31 for members in North America. Following the expiration of the PER period, applicants interested in obtaining the CRMA designation will be able to apply to sit for the examination, which will be launched in July 2013.

Use this link for more information about the CRMA designation.