Individual Awards
The IIA has several individual awards created to emphasize and recognize outstanding individual achievement in the internal audit profession.


Bradford Cadmus Memorial Award
The Bradford Cadmus Memorial Award is a tribute to the memory of Bradford Cadmus - author, educator, researcher, and the first managing director of The Institute.

Victor Z. Brink Award for Distinguished Service

The Victor Z. Brink Award for Distinguished Service was established to recognize individuals who, over time, have given unusual and outstanding service to the profession of internal auditing through participation in the activities of The IIA. 

William G. Bishop III CIA Lifetime Achievement Award

The Institute's Board of Directors formally established the William G. Bishop III CIA Lifetime Achievement Award in December 2004 to recognize individual members who, through a lifetime of accomplishments and dedication to The Institute, have impacted the practice of internal auditing, advanced the awareness of The IIA, and inspired professionals around the world to make a difference in our profession and in the organizations we serve.

Leon R. Radde Educator of the Year Award

Each year, the Academic Relations Committee seeks individuals who have made outstanding contributions to internal auditing in the area of education for its Leon R. Radde Educator of the Year Award.

John B. Thurston Award (Internal Auditor)

The Board of Directors of The Institute established the award in March 1952 as a tribute to the memory of John B. Thurston, its first international president and an eminent authority in the field of internal auditing.

Outstanding Contributor Award
Five awards are presented annually to authors of articles published in Internal Auditor that are judged the best by the Communications Advisory Committee.
Esther R. Sawyer Research Award

This annual award from The IIA Research Foundation is granted to an individual entering or currently enrolled at the undergraduate or graduate or has completed the program in internal auditing at an Internal Auditing Education Partnership school, based on submission of an original manuscript on a specific topic related to modern internal auditing.

Certification Awards - William S. Smith Award (CIA)

The William S. Smith Award is named in honor of William S. Smith, CIA, The IIA's first chairman of the Board of Regents, a former IIA chairman of the board, and a driving force behind the development of the Certified Internal Auditor®(CIA®) program. Awards are based on individual performance on the core exam parts (Parts 1, 2, and 3). With year-round testing, award recipients must pass each exam part on their first attempt within one year of taking the first exam part.

© 2017 The Institute of Internal Auditors / 247 Maitland Avenue Altamonte Springs, FL. 32701-4201 USA / +1-407-937-1100 / FAX +1-407-937-1101 •