Skip to Content

William G. Bishop III CIA Lifetime Achievement Award

William G. Bishop III, CIA Lifetime Achievement Award

The Institute's Board of Directors formally established the William G. Bishop III, CIA Lifetime Achievement Award in December 2004 to recognize individual members who, through a lifetime of accomplishments and dedication to The Institute, have impacted the practice of internal auditing, advanced the awareness of The IIA, and inspired professionals around the world to make a difference in our profession and in the organizations we serve.

This award was presented to the following recipients:

  • In 2022 Carman L. Lapointe, recognized for her groundbreaking achievements, lifelong advocacy efforts for the profession, and keen instinct for developing future leaders.
  • In 2021 Richard F. Chambers, recognized for his influence on the internal audit profession and his decade-long contributions and dedication to the profession.
  • In 2019 to Gerald D. Cox, recognized for his exceptional volunteer service and professional contributions during a career in internal audit spanning nearly four decades.
  • In 2017 to Dennis K. Beran, known as the “encourager of volunteers” and recognized as a role model for his dedication and volunteerism to the profession promoting internal auditing’s relevance around the globe.
  • In 2016 to Patricia K. Miller, recognized for her extraordinary leadership and dedication to the profession as a practitioner, volunteer, speaker, instructor, author, and mentor to scores of young professionals.
  • In 2008 to William L. Taylor, recognized for his extraordinary leadership and dedication over a lifetime of service to the global profession of internal auditing and The IIA.
  • In 2004 to William G. Bishop III (posthumously), for his impact on the global profession culminating from his 12 years as IIA president.
  • In 2002 to Mortimer Dittenhofer, recognized for his lifetime promotion of internal auditing in government and education.
  • In 2000 to Lawrence B. Sawyer, recognized worldwide as "the father of modern internal auditing."

The award is open to members of The Institute who have shown extraordinary leadership and dedication over a lifetime of service to the global profession and The IIA. Members must be well-known and well-respected globally and must have had a major impact on the development of the profession. While not required, members may have already received other prestigious awards from The IIA, such as the Bradford Cadmus Memorial Award or the Victor Z. Brink Award for Distinguished Service.

It is anticipated that this award will be given infrequently. Candidates should be near the end of their careers in internal auditing (or related fields) and near the end of their active involvement with The IIA. Each nomination must be supported by a detailed explanation as to why the nominee should receive the award.

Bill Bishop