Skip to Content

Internal Audit Practitioner

The first stop toward success.

To support students as well as new and rotational auditors on their journey into internal auditing, The IIA is pleased to announce the revised education and employment requirements of the Internal Audit Practitioner program. The Internal Audit Practitioner designation is a great way to demonstrate internal audit aptitude. Active Internal Audit Practitioners opens a new pathway to the Certified Internal Auditor®️ (CIA®️) designation, the only globally recognized certification for internal audit practitioners around the world.


Candidates will have two years to complete the Internal Audit Practitioner program from the date approved into the program. You may showcase this designation on your CV or resume for a three-year validity. No CPE is required and the designation is non-renewable after three years.

Get Started

Who Should Pursue Internal Audit Practitioner Designation?

  • University Students - Graduating with the Internal Audit Practitioner designation reflects your commitment to entering the profession with the fundamental knowledge needed to begin contributing immediately.
  • Beginner Internal Auditors - Obtaining this designation allows you to make a statement about your knowledge and aptitude as you progress through the CIA program.
  • Rotational Internal Auditors - This designation is ideal for rotational auditors as it quickly demonstrates your knowledge and aptitude of The IIA Standards.
  • Managers of Internal Audit Activities - This designation helps demonstrate that your internal auditors are well-versed in internal audit basics and establishes a common foundation of skills and knowledge related to internal audit best practices.

Program Overview

  • 5 syllabus domains, each dealing with a set of IIA Standards
  • 2-hour examination
  • 100 multiple-choice questions
  • Testing Center or Online Testing*
  • Two years to complete the examinations once approved
  • Three years to designation validity after passing
  • Three years to enroll in the CIA
  • One Hundred Self-Study Practice Questions Included with approved application
Find your local chapter.

Online Testing

To support the continued professional development of certification candidates around the world and in response to test center closures, The IIA is now offering online testing in some regions.

Learn More


Access CCMS

Click here