Skip to Content

Awards & Designations

Awards & Designations

Numerous awards programs recognize contributions to the internal audit profession and The IIA in areas such as service, research, certification, and writing for IIA publications.

Bradford Cadmus Memorial Award

The Bradford Cadmus Memorial Award is a tribute to the memory of Bradford Cadmus — author, educator, researcher, and the first managing director of The IIA.

Victor Z. Brink Award for Distinguished Service

The Victor Z. Brink Award for Distinguished Service was established to recognize individuals who, over time, have given extraordinary service to the profession of internal auditing through participation in the activities of The IIA.

William G. Bishop III, CIA Lifetime Achievement Award

The William G. Bishop III, CIA Lifetime Achievement Award was established to recognize individual members who, through a lifetime of accomplishments and dedication to The IIA have impacted the practice of internal auditing, advanced the awareness of The IIA, and inspired professionals around the world to make a difference in our profession and in the organizations we serve.

The American Hall of Distinguished Audit Practitioners

The American Hall of Distinguished Audit Practitioners was established in 2011 to annually recognize individuals who have significantly contributed to the profession throughout their careers. It’s the highest honor given by The IIA’s North American Board for personal accomplishments in the advancement of the profession.

Internal Auditor’s Emerging Leaders

Internal Auditor magazine recognizes up-and-coming internal audit professionals in its October issue showcase feature, "Emerging Leaders." Do you know a high-performing internal auditor who possesses the qualities to become a thought leader in the industry? Acknowledge their dedication and nominate them beginning April 1. Visit and click on the Emerging Leaders nomination button.

Affiliate Recognition Program

The Affiliate Recognition Program was designed for Affiliates that reached important milestones or contributed to the growth of the profession at the local, regional, or global level.

Research Awards

Michael J. Barrett Doctoral Dissertation Grant

To encourage internal audit studies by doctoral candidates, the Internal Audit Foundation offers the Michael J. Barrett Doctoral Dissertation Grant.

Esther R. Sawyer Research Award

The annual Esther R. Sawyer Research Award from the Internal Audit Foundation is granted to an individual entering or currently enrolled at the undergraduate or graduate level or who has completed a program in internal auditing at a participating Internal Auditing Education Partnership (IAEP) program school. The award is based on the submission of an original manuscript on a specific topic related to modern internal auditing.

Certification Awards

William S. Smith Award

The William S. Smith Award is named in honor of The IIA's first chairman of the Board of Regents, a former IIA chairman of the board, and a driving force behind the development of the Certified Internal Auditor® (CIA®) program. Awards are based on individual performance on the core exam parts (parts 1, 2, and 3). With year-round testing, award recipients must pass each exam part on their first attempt within one year of taking the first exam part.

Writing Awards

Ted Keys Award

The Ted Keys Award — named in honor of the late Elmer Theodore Keys, Jr., a long-time regular writer for an Internal Auditor magazine department — is presented each year for the most outstanding article submitted to one of the magazine’s departments. Winning articles are selected for outstanding quality, clear presentation of ideas, practicality, and relevance to the continuing practice of internal auditing.

John B. Thurston Award

The Board of Directors of The Institute established the John B. Thurston Award in March 1952 as a tribute to the memory of its first international president and an eminent authority in the field of internal auditing. The award is made annually to the author of that article published in Internal Auditor that is voted to be the outstanding paper in the field of internal auditing.​